Something in the Way We Move

Something in the Way We Move
By Paige Mead of k-pagination.tumblr.com and paginationpoetry.tumblr.com

I tried to take piano lessons, once.

I quickly found out

that my hands – jerky, erratic –

are not graceful like the stereotype.

They don’t move in the way

I was taught they should.

I know they’re all right, anyway.

Without my hands

I could not speak half my words

Without my hands

I would appear completely deadpan

and unexcited about anything.

Things slip through my fingers

on a regular basis.

Not a child anymore, I still struggle

to open things that aren’t even designed

to be child-proof.

I call them Paige-proof.

They’re still likable.

I appreciate their work

in flapping to express my excitement

and I appreciate their work

in calming me down

more so than a lot of other things.

One day, it will be taught to children

that something in the way we move

is not an act to be treated with shame.

One day, children will no longer be told

“quiet hands.” One day, it will be

just another way to communicate.

3 Comments

Filed under #LoveNotFear Flashblog, #PosAutive Action for Social Justice, Acceptance, Autism, Boycott Autism Speaks, Love Not Fear

3 responses to “Something in the Way We Move

  1. Revital Lan Cohen

    Beautiful. The poem and your hands.

Leave a Reply

